Startup credits

Pinecone for Startups: Free Standard Tier, Pro Support and Credits

Pinecone for Startups gives companies under 100 staff at Series A or earlier its Standard tier, Pro Support and usage credits. Rules and steps.

  • Checked 2026-11-01

Pinecone for Startups gives companies with fewer than 100 employees, at Series A or earlier, free access to the Standard tier and Pro Support, plus usage credits and discounts. Pinecone does not publish the credit amount or how long the benefits last. You apply through a short contact form.

Go to the official Pinecone page →

Pinecone for Startups is the startup track for Pinecone, the managed vector database used for retrieval, semantic search and RAG. Instead of a headline dollar grant, Pinecone gives accepted companies its Standard tier and Pro Support at no charge, plus usage credits and discounts it does not size publicly. We checked Pinecone’s official pages on 1 November 2026, and the figures below are the ones Pinecone itself publishes.

What you get

The programme has three parts:

  • Standard tier access. Pinecone says members get free access to its Standard tier. At list price, Standard carries a $50 monthly minimum, with pay-as-you-go billing above that. It adds a choice of cloud and region, dedicated read nodes, import from object storage, backup and restore, and role-based access control with SSO.
  • Pro Support. Normally $250 per month. Pinecone’s startup page lists what comes with it: deployment in any cloud and region, RBAC, backups, import, Prometheus metrics and a dedicated Slack channel with the Pinecone team.
  • Usage credits and discounts. Pinecone confirms members receive both, but does not state how much.

To put the support part in context, here is how Pinecone prices its support tiers for everyone else:

Support tier List price
Free $0, included with Standard
Developer $29 per month
Pro $250 per month
Premium Enterprise only, priced by sales

So even before any usage credits, Pro Support alone is worth $3,000 a year at list price, assuming it runs for a full year. Pinecone does not say how long programme benefits last.

What is not published

Pinecone’s page does not state the size of the usage credits, how long the free Standard access and Pro Support run, or whether there are services the credits cannot pay for. Ask for these in writing before you plan your budget around them.

Who qualifies

Pinecone lists only two conditions:

  1. Your company has fewer than 100 employees.
  2. You are at Series A or earlier.

The page does not mention a minimum funding amount, a company age limit or a requirement to come through an accelerator or VC partner. Pinecone does run a separate partner programme for organisations in AI, search and cloud infrastructure, but that is for partner companies, not a condition for startups.

How to apply

  1. Go to the Pinecone for Startups page and choose Join the Program.
  2. Fill in the contact form that opens.
  3. Wait for the Pinecone team to respond. Pinecone does not publish a review time.
  4. Send questions to [email protected].

Because the form is a contact request rather than an automated sign-up, expect a conversation about your use case before anything is applied to your account. It helps to have a few details ready: your headcount, latest funding round, the cloud and region you need, and a rough estimate of your vector count and query volume. Those figures let Pinecone judge which discounts and how much credit make sense for you, and they give you a basis for asking follow-up questions about duration.

Things to check before you apply

  • Get the numbers in writing. With no published credit amount or duration, confirm both when Pinecone replies.
  • Know what you would pay afterwards. When programme benefits end, Standard returns to its $50 monthly minimum and Pro Support to $250 per month unless you downgrade.
  • The free Starter plan has limits. It is capped at 2 GB of storage, 5 indexes, one project, two users and AWS us-east-1 only, with community support on Discord. If you outgrow it, the startup programme is the cheaper path to Standard.
  • Trial first if you are unsure. A three-week Standard trial with $300 in credits lets you test Standard features before applying.
  • Headcount counts. The 100-employee cap applies to your whole company, not just the engineering team.

How it compares

Most database startup programmes lead with a credit figure. Pinecone leads with plan access and support, which suits teams that are already past prototype and need production features such as backups, RBAC and region choice. For an early prototype, the free Starter plan may cover you without applying at all. If you are weighing vector storage options, MongoDB, Neon and other database vendors also run startup programmes, and several bundle vector search into a general-purpose database.

Questions people ask

How much credit does Pinecone give startups?

Pinecone does not publish a figure. Its page only says members receive usage credits and discounts on top of the Standard tier and Pro Support. Ask [email protected] if you need a number before committing.

What can I use if my startup does not qualify?

Pinecone's free Starter plan covers small projects, with up to 2 GB of storage and 5 indexes in AWS us-east-1. You can also start a three-week Standard trial that includes $300 in credits.

Can a Series B company join Pinecone for Startups?

No. Pinecone limits the programme to companies at Series A or earlier with fewer than 100 employees. Later-stage teams would need a regular Standard or Enterprise plan.

Live listings on SaaSDeals.io

Current offers in our catalogue for the tools this post covers

  • PineconeMultiple sources (sold on aicredits.dev, Awesome Startup Credits, SaaSOffers, StartupPerks)
    Credits
    Up to $150,000 in credits
    Free to apply

More on startup credits

All startup credits posts →